Welcome to the HeavyMetalPro Forums

It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 4:24 pm

All times are UTC-04:00

PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2007 11:49 pm 
MechMeister
MechMeister

Just a really quick note to let all of you know that yes, all of the HeavyMetal programs do in fact run, and run well, on Vista. But Bill Gates has a few hoops he would like you to jump through first!

Seriously, Vista is changing all the rules, especially the rules that programmers use in determining how to install and run programs, and especially where to save data files and other information while the programs are running. I'm just learning about all this myself, having just picked up my new Vista machine on Saturday. Just tonight I installed HMPlus and HMMap, and ran into the same type of problems many of you have already. So I've compiled the steps that you can take to successfully install and run HM programs on your Vista machines.

The "Running HeavyMetal on Vista" web page can be found at:

http://www.heavymetalpro.com/vista.htm

It's definitely a work in progress, as I will no doubt learn better methods, plus I intend to modify the programs to install and work more seamlessly with Vista. But in the meantime, I wanted to at least give you some instructions on how to run your programs on your new machine or hard drive. And I've also included a bit of background about why all this is necessary. ;-)

As mentioned on the web page, if you have any questions or comments concerning the instructions, find something that doesn't work as stated, or find a better or easier way to do any of this, please let me know. I'm learning right along with you! ;-)

The above was also sent out to those who have subscribed to the HeavyMetalPro Newsletter. If you're not already signed-up, take a look at it at:

http://www.heavymetalpro.com/Newsletter.htm

* There are 10 types of people in this world. Those who understand binary and those who don't. *